PEANUTS WORLDWIDE LAUNCHES FIRST-EVER PEANUTS GLOBAL ARTIST COLLECTIVE

München, April 2018 

Seven Acclaimed Contemporary Artists—Mr. A, Nina Chanel Abney, AVAF, FriendsWithYou, Tomokazu Matsuyama, Rob Pruitt, and Kenny Scharf— Create Peanuts-Inspired Art

 Initial Phase of the Multi-Year Project Launches in April with Large-Scale Public Murals in Paris, Seoul, Berlin, New York, San Francisco, Tokyo and Mexico City

In an unprecedented artistic project that offers the gift of Peanuts-inspired contemporary art to all, Peanuts Worldwide announced today the launch of the Peanuts Global Artist Collective: a groundbreaking, global initiative that puts Snoopy, Charlie Brown and the rest of the gang into the hands and imaginations of seven carefully curated artists who will meld their own signature characters, settings and styles with the iconic world of Peanuts. The project’s first phase features large-scale public murals in seven international locations.

The creators include an impressive array of artists who share a deep connection to Peanuts and a long-standing commitment to public art: Mr. A, Nina Chanel Abney, AVAF, FriendsWithYou, Tomokazu Matsuyama, Rob Pruitt, and Kenny Scharf.

“Given their global stature, affinity for Peanuts and passion for public art, we’re thrilled to allow these seven artists to not only interpret but intermingle Sparky’s world with their own,” says Jeannie Schulz, widow of Charles M. Schulz. “This is unique for us, and I think my husband would be pleased that people from all walks of life will have the chance to see his characters through the eyes of some of the most important art makers of our time.”

Moved by the profound influence Schulz had on their own artistic journeys—and their ongoing mission to make art more readily available to people of all ages and nationalities—the artists have created dozens of eye-popping, immersive Peanuts-inspired murals that will be displayed in public venues around the globe this spring.

This initial phase begins on April 8 in Paris’ art-filled 10th Arrondissement, with the debut of a striking Snoopy-centric image by Chanel Abney on the façade of Le Citizen hotel alongside the trendy Canal St. Martin. The project then expands on April 15, opening in Seoul’s Jamsil Lotte World Mall with giant floating digital screens on display by Rob Pruitt. Next, Berlin (Mitte district), New York City (Hudson Square) and San Francisco (Downtown) open simultaneously on April 16 with murals by all seven artists. Tokyo follows with a two-part exhibition that first launches on April 21 at The Snoopy Museum in Roppongi and features pieces by all seven artists. This exhibition will then be extended to digital screens in the Shibuya district starting April 28. On May 3, the tour broadens to Mexico City (inside and surrounding The Mumedi Design Museum) with colorful Carnavelesque murals by AVAF in the city’s buzzing Zócalo.

From 100-Plus to the Final Seven: Peanuts Worldwide and Culture Corps’ Year-Long Search

The Peanuts Global Artist Collective was curated by the esteemed New York-based creative consulting firm Culture Corps. Leading art curators Yvonne Force Villareal and Doreen Remen, co-founders of both Culture Corps and the non-profit Art Production Fund, evaluated the work of more than 100 different contemporary artists to find collaborators who could uniquely expand upon the themes from Charles Schulz’s oeuvre.

Based on their recommendations, Peanuts Worldwide finally selected the following seven artists:

Mr. A— Graffiti was the first way André Saraiva made his mark on the world. Now an established hotelier, restaurateur, and nightlife pioneer, Saraiva has never put away his spray can.

“I’ve been a big admirer of Charles Schulz and all the Peanuts characters for a very long time,” says Saraiva. “I have a particular affection for Linus and his blanket. He reminds me of myself when I was a kid.”

Nina Chanel Abney—Combining representation and abstraction, Nina Chanel Abney’s paintings capture the frenetic pace of contemporary culture in subjects as diverse as race, celebrity, religion, politics, sex and art history.

“When I was a kid, I was completely hooked on all the Peanuts movies,” says Abney. “The subtle humor and illustrations always kept me captivated. So to be able to filter Peanuts through my creative lens is a childhood dream come true.”

AVAF—Founded by Brazilian-born artist Eli Sudbrack in 2001, Assume Vivid Astro Focus works in a vast array of media, including painting, drawing, installations, video, sculpture, neons, wallpaper and decals.

“I decided to mostly concentrate in images with the Peanuts characters in “action” (tumbling, running, roller skating, surfing, etc.), since I thought the mash-up of AVAF and Peanuts would create this fantastic energizing/exhilarating/dynamic/electrifying reaction to whoever is exposed to it,” says Sudbrack.

FriendsWithYou—FriendsWithYou is the fine art collaborative of Samuel Borkson and Arturo Sandoval III, working collectively since 2002 with the sole purpose of spreading the positive message of Magic, Luck, and Friendship.

“We are very much interested in using popular and culturally relevant visual language to disseminate an optimistic and empowering world outlook,” says Borkson.

“So given the opportunity to use the Peanuts language, that is so ingrained into the modern world culture, we were more than ecstatic,” adds Sandoval.

Tomokazu Matsuyama—Matsuyama’s work responds to his own bi-cultural experience of growing up between Japan and America by bringing together aspects of both Eastern and Western aesthetic systems.

“How global can this project get? It’s Peanuts, one of the most fun yet challenging icons to play with in making art,” says Matsuyama.

Rob Pruitt—Pruitt is an American post-conceptual artist who works primarily in painting, installation and sculpture. He is perhaps best known for his ongoing series of Pandas as well as Gradient Paintings.

“I have loved Peanuts since I was a kid,” says Pruitt. “In fact, I think I taught myself how to draw by copying Peanuts characters and strips over and over, especially the details—the grass, the snow, the wobbly lines.”

Kenny Scharf—Kenny Scharf is an American painter and installation artist, who is associated with the Lowbrow movement and was part of the East Village art scene during the 1980s.  He is best known for his visually dynamic work inspired by comic books and pop culture.

“I think as a child I identified most with Charlie Brown,” says Scharf. “He was kind of an outcast and also my next door neighbor was just like Lucy.”

Additional phases of the Collective will feature a number of activations across 2018 and 2019, with more details to be released in the coming months.

“As the granddaughter of Charles Schulz, I feel that the Peanuts Global Artist Collective is a truly thrilling project because it makes contemporary art accessible to everyone—and it shows that the art of Peanuts was the work of someone ahead of his time,” says Lindsey Schulz, an artist who works in installation, sculpture, drawing, and video. “My grandfather once said, ‘Comic strips aren’t art…They are too transient. Art is something so good it speaks to succeeding generations.’ Well, by his own definition, and as the artists in this collective know, Charles Schulz was a true artist who has spoken and will continue to speak to every succeeding generation!”

 

Phase 1 of The Peanuts Global Artist Collective Tour

Tentative Opening Dates –Subject to Change

Except where noted, the location features murals by all seven artists.

April 8 – Paris

  • An abstract, geometric Snoopy by Nina Chanel Abney brightens the canal-side façade of Le Citizen Hotel in the art-filled 10th Arrondissement.

April 15 – Seoul

  • Giant floating digital screens by Rob Pruitt touch down at the Jamsil Lotte World Mall.

April 16 – Berlin, New York, San Francisco

  • Berlin’s Mitte District is the eye of the art-storm with multiple digital displays.
  • The streets of New York’s revitalized Hudson Square come alive with seven breathtaking murals.
  • Digital murals enliven San Francisco’s trendy downtown area.

April 21 & 28 – Tokyo

  • Tokyo offers a a two-part exhibition that first launches on April 21 at The Snoopy Museum in Roppongi, which will then be extended to digital screens in the Shibuya district starting April 28.

May 3 – Mexico City

  • The Mumedi Design Museum and its surrounding outside areas are amplified by AVAF’s colorful Carnavelesque murals in the buzzing Zócalo.

About Peanuts Worldwide

The PEANUTS characters and related intellectual property are owned by Peanuts Worldwide, a subsidiary controlled by DHX Media and the family of Charles M. Schulz.

Where to Find/Follow the Peanuts Global Artist Collective

#SnoopyGlobalArt

peanutsglobalartistcollective.com

IG: @SnoopyGrams

Twitter: @Snoopy

Facebook: @Snoopy

Media Contacts

Hannah Guy, 212-293-8524, hannah.guy@peanuts.com

Alison Hill, 714-287-2015, alison@currentpr.com

PEANUTS WORLDWIDE STARTET DIE PEANUTS GLOBAL ARTIST COLLECTIVE

München, März 2018

Sieben gefeierte zeitgenössische Künstler — Mr. A, Nina Chanel Abney, AVAF, FriendsWithYou, Tomokazu Matsuyama, Rob Pruitt und Kenny Scharf —kreieren Peanuts-inspirierte Kunst

Erste Phase des mehrjährigen Projekts startet im April mit großformatigen öffentlichen Bildern in Paris, Seoul, Berlin, New York, San Francisco, Tokio und Mexiko-Stadt

In einem beispiellosen künstlerischen Projekt, das Peanuts-inspirierte zeitgenössische Kunst für alle bietet, kündigte Peanuts Worldwide heute den Start der Peanuts Global Artist Collective an. Es ist eine bahnbrechende, globale Initiative, die Snoopy, Charlie Brown und den Rest der Gang in die Hände von sieben sorgsam ausgewählten Künstlern legt. Die Künstler lassen ihren eigenen charakteristischen Stil mit der ikonischen Welt der Peanuts verschmelzen. Die erste Phase des Projekts umfasst großformatige öffentliche Gemälde in sieben Metropolen weltweit.

Die beeindruckende Auswahl besteht aus bekannten Künstlern, die eine tiefe Verbindung zu den Peanuts und ein langjähriges Engagement für öffentliche Kunst haben: Mr. A, Nina Chanel Abney, AVAF, FriendsWithYou, Tomokazu Matsuyama, Rob Pruitt, und Kenny Scharf.

“Angesichts ihrer globalen Bedeutung, ihrer Affinität zu den Peanuts und ihrer Leidenschaft für Kunst, sind wir begeistert, dass diese sieben Künstler Charles M. Schulzes Welt nicht nur interpretieren, sondern dass sie die Stile auch miteinander vermischen”, sagt Jeannie Schulz, die Witwe von Charles M. Schulz. “Das ist einzigartig für uns, und ich denke, mein Mann würde sich freuen, wenn Menschen aus allen Gesellschaftsschichten die Möglichkeit hätten, seine Figuren durch die Augen einiger der wichtigsten Kunstschaffenden unserer Zeit zu sehen.”

Ergriffen von dem tiefgreifenden Einfluss, den Schulz auf ihre eigenen künstlerische Entwicklung hatte – und ihre Mission, Kunst für Menschen aller Altersgruppen und Nationalitäten leichter zugänglich zu machen – haben die Künstler Dutzende von atemberaubenden, eindringlichen Wandgemälden geschaffen, die an öffentlichen Orten in der ganzen Welt ab Frühjahr 2018 zu sehen sein werden.

Diese erste Phase beginnt am 8. April 2018 im 10. Arrondissement von Paris, wo Chanel Abney an der Fassade des Hotels Le Citizen neben dem trendigen Canal St. Martin ein beeindruckendes Snoopy-Bild zeigt. Das Projekt wird dann am 15. April in Seouls Jamsil Lotte World Mall mit riesigen schwebenden Digitalbildschirmen von Rob Pruitt erweitert. Am 16. April zeigen gleichzeitig Berlin (Mitte), New York City (Hudson Square) und San Francisco (Downtown) Wandgemälden aller sieben Künstler. Tokio folgt mit einer zweiteiligen Ausstellung, die am 21. April im Snoopy Museum in Roppongi eröffnet wird und Stücke von allen sieben Künstlern zeigt. Diese Ausstellung wird ab dem 28. April im Shibuya-Viertel auf digitale Bildschirme erweitert.

Am 3. Mai wird die Tour durch Mexico City (im und um das Mumedi Design Museum) mit farbenfrohen Carnavel-Wandmalereien von AVAF im pulsierenden Zócalo der Stadt erweitert.

 

Von über 100 zu den letzten Sieben: Peanuts Worldwide und Culture Corps einjährige Suche

Das Peanuts Global Artist Collective wurde von der angesehenen New Yorker Kreativberatungsfirma Culture Corps gestaltet. Die führenden Kunstkuratoren Yvonne Force Villareal und Doreen Remen, Mitbegründer des Culture Corps und des gemeinnützigen Art Production Fund, bewerteten die Arbeit von mehr als 100 zeitgenössischen Künstlern, um Kooperationen zu finden, die die Themen aus Charles Schulzes Oeuvre auf einzigartige Weise erweitern konnten.

Basierend auf ihren Empfehlungen wählte Peanuts Worldwide schließlich die folgenden sieben Künstler aus:

Mr. A— Mit Graffiti prägte André Saraiva die Welt zuerst. Aber selbst jetzt, als etablierter Hotelier, Gastronom und Nightlife-Pionier hat Saraiva seine Spraydose nie abgelegt.

“Ich war lange ein großer Bewunderer von Charles Schulz und allen Peanuts-Charakteren”, sagt Saraiva. “Ich habe eine besondere Zuneigung für Linus und seine Decke. Er erinnert mich daran, wie ich als Kind war.”

Nina Chanel Abney— Die Gemälde von Nina Chanel Abney verbinden Repräsentation und Abstraktion und nehmen das hektische Tempo der zeitgenössischen Kultur in so unterschiedlichen Themen wie Rasse, Prominenz, Religion, Politik, Sex und Kunstgeschichte auf.

“Als Kind war ich total von den Peanuts-Filmen begeistert”, sagt Abney. “Der subtile Humor und die Illustrationen haben mich immer fasziniert. Die Peanuts durch meine kreative Linse zu filtern, ist wie ein wahr werdender Kindheitstraum.”

AVAF— 2001 von dem gebürtigen Brasilianer Eli Sudbrack gegründet, arbeitet Assume Vivid Astro Focus mit einer breiten Palette von Medien, darunter Malerei, Zeichnung, Video-Installationen und Skulpturen.

“Ich habe entschieden, mich hauptsächlich auf Bilder mit den Peanuts-Charakteren in “Aktion” (Laufen, Rollschuhlaufen, Surfen usw.) zu konzentrieren. Ich dachte mir, das Mischen von AVAF und Peanuts würde diese fantastische Energie und Dynamik schaffen, die elektrisierend auf den Betrachter wirkt”, sagt Sudbrack.

FriendsWithYou—FriendsWithYou ist die Kunst-Kollaboration von Samuel Borkson und Arturo Sandoval III, die seit 2002 mit dem Ziel zusammenarbeiten, die positive Botschaft von Magie, Glück und Freundschaft zu verbreiten.

“Wir sind sehr daran interessiert, populäre und kulturell relevante Bildsprache zu verwenden, um eine optimistische und kraftvolle Weltanschauung zu verbreiten”, sagt Borkson.

“Die Möglichkeit, die Sprache der Peanuts zu verwenden, die in der modernen Weltkultur so verwurzelt ist, hat uns mehr als begeistert”, fügt Sandoval hinzu.

Tomokazu Matsuyama— Matsuyamas Arbeit reflektiert auf seine bi-kulturelle Erfahrung des Erwachsenwerdens zwischen Japan und Amerika, indem er Aspekte östlicher und westlicher ästhetischer Systeme zusammenführt.

“Wie global kann dieses Projekt werden? Es sind die Peanuts! Eine der amüsantesten und gleichzeitig herausforderndsten Ikonen, mit denen man Kunst machen kann”, sagt Matsuyama.

Rob Pruitt— Pruitt ist ein amerikanischer postkonzeptueller Künstler, der hauptsächlich mit Malerei, Installation und Skulpturen arbeitet. Er ist vielleicht am besten für seine fortlaufende Serie von Pandas sowie für Farbverlaufsbilder bekannt.

“Ich habe die Peanuts seit meiner Kindheit geliebt”, sagt Pruitt. “Tatsächlich glaube ich, dass ich mir das Zeichnen selbst beigebracht habe, in dem ich die Peanuts-Charaktere und Cartoons immer wieder nachgemalt habe, besonders die Details – das Gras, der Schnee, die wackeligen Linien.”

Kenny Scharf— Kenny Scharf ist ein amerikanischer Maler und Installationskünstler, der mit der Lowbrow-Bewegung verbunden ist und in den 1980er Jahren Teil der East Village-Kunstszene war. Er ist vor allem für seine visuell dynamische Arbeit bekannt, die von Comics und Popkultur inspiriert ist.

“Ich denke, als Kind habe ich mich am meisten mit Charlie Brown identifiziert”, sagt Scharf. “Er war ein Ausgestoßener und auch meine Nachbarin war genau wie Lucy.”

Die nächsten Phasen der Peanuts Global Artist Collective wird in 2018 und 2019 aus einer Reihe von Aktivierungen bestehen, weitere Details werden in den kommenden Monaten veröffentlicht.

“Als Enkelin von Charles Schulz finde ich, dass das Peanuts Global Artist Collective ein wirklich spannendes Projekt ist, weil es zeitgenössische Kunst für jedermann zugänglich macht – und es zeigt, dass die Peanuts die Arbeit von jemandem ist, der seiner Zeit voraus ist”, sagt Lindsey Schulz, eine Künstlerin, die mit Installationen, Skulpturen, Zeichnungen und Videos arbeitet. “Mein Großvater hat einmal gesagt: ,Comics sind keine Kunst … Sie sind zu vergänglich. Kunst ist so gut, dass sie auch nachfolgende Generationen anspricht.‘ Nun, nach seiner eigenen Definition und auch nach der Meinung der Künstler, die an dieser Kooperation teilnehmen, war Charles Schulz ein wahrer Künstler, der jede nachfolgende Generation angesprochen hat und weiter ansprechen wird!”

Phase 1 der Peanuts Global Artist Collective Tour

Vorläufige Eröffnungstermine – Änderung vorbehalten

Wenn nicht anders vermerkt, zeigen die Locations Werke von allen sieben Künstlern.

8. April 2018 – Paris

  • Ein abstrakter, geometrischer Snoopy von Nina Chanel Abney erhellt die kanalseitige Fassade des Le Citizen Hotels im 10. Arrondissement.

15. April 2018 – Seoul

  • Riesige schwebende Digitalbildschirme von Rob Pruitt erstrahlen die Jamsil Lotte World Mall.

16. April 2018 – Berlin, New York, San Francisco

  • Berlins Bezirk Mitte ist im Auge des Kunststurms mit einer Vielzahl an digitalen Displays.
  • Die Straßen von New Yorks belebtem Hudson Square werden mit sieben atemberaubenden Wandgemälden lebendig
  • Digitale Wandbilder erhellen die trendige Innenstadt von San Francisco.

21. & 28. April 2018 – Tokyo

  • Tokyo bietet eine zweiteilige Ausstellung, die am 21. April im Snoopy Museum in Roppongi startet und ab dem 28. April auf digitale Bildschirme im Shibuya Bezirk erweitert wird.

3. Mai 2018 – Mexico City

  • Das Mumedi Design Museum und die umliegenden Außenbereiche werden durch die farbenfrohen Karnevals-Malereien von AVAF im lebhaften Zócalo gezeigt.

Über Peanuts Worldwide

Die Peanuts-Charaktere und das dazugehörige geistige Eigentum sind im Besitz von Peanuts Worldwide, einer Tochtergesellschaft, die von DHX Media und der Familie von Charles M. Schulz kontrolliert wird.

 

Wo finde ich das Peanuts Global Artist Collective?

#SnoopyGlobalArt

peanutsglobalartistcollective.com

IG: @SnoopyGrams

Twitter: @Snoopy

Facebook: @Snoopy

E-Media Kontakt:

Hannah Guy, 212-293-8524, hannah.guy@peanuts.com

Alison Hill, 714-287-2015, alison@currentpr.com